Monitoring of new strains of coronavirus | Infographic news

New variants of the coronavirus have now been reported in at least 31 countries around the world. One of these new strains, called VUI-202012/01, was first reported in the UK on December 14 and is believed to be up to 70% more transmissible than the strain previously dominant in the UK.

This means that it is spreading faster in the UK, making the pandemic even more difficult to control and increasing the risk that it will spread quickly to other countries as well.

So far, there is no indication that the new mutation is more deadly or more likely to be able to escape vaccines or treatments.

The map and list below show which countries have so far reported cases of the new strains of coronavirus.

Al Jazeera will update this list as more information becomes available (updated December 31).

United Kingdom: December 14
South Africa: December 18
Australia: December 21
Netherlands: December 22
Denmark: 23 december
Ireland: 23 december
Israel: 23 december
Italy: 23 december
Germany: December 24
Iceland: December 24
Nigeria: December 24
Singapore: December 24
France: December 25th
Japan: December 25th
Lebanon: December 25th
Canada: December 26
Spain: December 26
Sweden: December 26
Jordan: December 27
Portugal: December 27
Finland: December 28
Norway: December 28
South Korea: December 28
Chile: December 29
India: December 29
Pakistan: December 29
Swiss: December 29
China: December 30
United Arab Emirates: December 30
United States: December 30
Malaysia: the 31st of December

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *