Joe Biden’s Inauguration Day: What You Need to Know | Joe Biden News


When Joe Biden and Kamala Harris are sworn in as president and vice-president at noon EST (5:00 p.m. GMT) on Wednesday, they will do so on a day unlike any previous inauguration.

Biden has scheduled a significantly reduced inauguration day for two months due to the pandemic: a minimal crowd will be on hand at the U.S. Capitol for the swearing-in ceremony and his inaugural address. The traditional inaugural lunch with Congress and the Supreme Court followed by the inaugural parade was scuttled weeks ago, as were the traditional inaugural balls. The celebratory events will be replaced by a “virtual” parade, featuring parade participants from across the United States and a “Celebrating America” television special hosted by actor Tom Hanks replaces the balls.

Adding to the unique nature of this year’s inauguration: Outgoing President Donald Trump will not be in attendance, choosing to leave town before Biden is sworn in, making it the first time since Andrew Johnson has jumped in. inauguration of Ulysses S Grant in 1869.

And, of course, the unprecedented security coverage that followed the U.S. Capitol Riot two weeks ago won’t allow any onlookers who would normally line up at the National Mall to watch the ceremony or along Pennsylvania Avenue to watch. the new sworn president making his procession from the Capitol to the White House.

Here’s a look at the key events on Biden’s inauguration day schedule:

8 a.m. EST (1 p.m. GMT): Trump leaves Washington

For the last time as president, Trump will be leaving Joint Base Andrews in suburban Maryland on Air Force One. Typically, this event occurs after the outgoing president has attended his successor’s swearing-in ceremony and lunch to follow, marking a very public peaceful transfer of power.

Trump, who has never conceded the election and still clings to the unfounded theory that he defeated Biden in November, has decided to give himself an early departure with his arrival in Florida, where he will settle in his post-presidency, scheduled for approximately 11:00 a.m. EST (4:00 p.m. GMT), approximately an hour before Biden’s swearing-in.

8:45 am EST (1:45 pm GMT): Biden and Harris go to church

Biden and Harris and their spouses will attend a morning church service at St. Matthew the Apostle’s Cathedral, the Roman Catholic church more commonly known as “St. Matthews’ and best known for being the site of the funeral of former President John F. Kennedy in 1963.

They would be joined by top congressional leaders: Senate Democratic Leader Chuck Schumer, Republican Leader Mitch McConnell, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Republican House Leader Kevin McCarthy.

11:00 a.m. EST (4:00 p.m. GMT): Swearing-in ceremony and inaugural address

About 1,000 people – not the hundreds of thousands who normally show up – will be in attendance at this year’s swearing-in ceremony, including the Biden and Harris families, Supreme Court justices and members of Congress, who are limited to one guest each. to the pandemic. The pre-oath agenda includes a performance of Lady Gaga’s national anthem and musical performances by Jennifer Lopez and Garth Brooks.

At the constitutionally fixed time of noon EST, (5:00 p.m. GMT) Biden will be sworn in as the 46th U.S. President by Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts and Harris will be sworn in by Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor on the western front of the US Capitol, the same location where the riot had taken place two weeks earlier.

Former Presidents Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama and their wives will be in attendance. The only other former president alive, Jimmy Carter, 96, will not attend, marking the first inauguration he will miss since his in 1977. Although Trump will have decamped to Florida, Vice President Mike Pence and his wife , Karen Pence, will be in attendance. Biden swearing-in ceremony.

After the oaths of office, Biden will deliver his inaugural address, which will be framed around the theme “America United”.

Biden’s inaugural committee said his speech will set out “his vision to defeat the pandemic, to better rebuild, unify and heal the nation.”

President John F. Kennedy gives his inaugural address at the United States Capitol, January 20, 1961. Listening in the front row, from left, are incoming Vice President Lyndon Johnson, outgoing Vice President and Opponent defeated Kennedy Richard M Nixon, Senator John Sparkman, and former President Harry Truman [File: AP Photo]

Traditionally, after the inaugural address, the newly sworn-in president and vice-president travel to Capitol Hill for a signing ceremony and congressional lunch, which have been canceled due to the pandemic.

The expulsion of the outgoing president from the Eastern Front from the Capitol also broke with tradition. As Trump will be long gone, Biden will simply move on to the next event that normally takes place there.

13:40 EST (18:40 GMT): passing exam

After the swearing-in ceremonies, Biden and Harris will head to the steps of the Eastern Front of the Capitol, where they will take part in the US Troop Review Ceremony. As President, Biden will also serve as Commander-in-Chief of the United States Army, in accordance with the United States Constitution. Every branch of the US military will be present for this event.

This event typically kicks off the inaugural parade down Pennsylvania Avenue to the White House. However, this tradition has been canceled due to the pandemic.

President George W Bush with his wife Laura, left, reviews the troops from the steps of the Capitol with Vice President Dick Cheney and his wife Lynne, right, after their inauguration on January 20, 2001. [File: Eric Gay/AP Photo]

2:25 p.m. EST (19:25 GMT): Wreath laying at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

Biden, Harris, their spouses and former presidents and their spouses will lay a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at Arlington National Cemetery just outside Washington, DC, to honor the “men and women in uniform who have paid the ultimate sacrifice “To defend the United States, according to Biden’s inaugural committee.

President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden lay a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at Arlington National Cemetery in Arlington, Virginia on January 20, 2013 [File: Susan Walsh/AP Photo]

3:15 p.m. EST (8:15 p.m. GMT): Presidential escort to the White House, virtual parade

With the parade moved online and the parade review booth in front of the White House dismantled, Biden’s inaugural committee is organizing a one-block escort to the White House.

“[E]any branch of the military will be represented in the escort, including the US Army Band, a Joint Service Honor Guard and the Commander-in-Chief’s Guard and the Fife and Drum Corps of the 3rd US Infantry. The Old Guard ”, according to the inaugural presidential committee.

A virtual “Parade Across America” will follow, with performances by participants across the United States.

The cancellation of this year’s parade is the first since Ronald Reagan was forced to cancel his in 1985 due to dangerously cold temperatures.

President Calvin Coolidge rides in an open car to lead the inauguration parade with his wife Grace and Chief Justice Wiliam H Taft in Washington, DC on March 4, 1925 [File: AP Photo]

17:15 EST (22:15 GMT): Biden signs executive orders and presidential actions

The new president will sign a series of executive actions, including orders to reverse Trump’s orders on immigration, climate change, and handling the COVID-19 pandemic. Among the actions Biden will sign also include orders to bring the United States back to the Paris climate agreement and to the World Health Organization.

After the signing ceremony, Biden will be sworn in in a virtual ceremony to a number of eligible President-appointed people to begin the “ first day ” of his administration.

8:30 p.m. EST (01:30 GMT, January 21): ‘Celebrating America’ special

With the pandemic forcing the cancellation of the many inaugural balls that traditionally take place in Washington, DC, the inaugural presidential committee has set up a prime-time television special that will be broadcast by several US television stations and broadcast. online.

Hosted by Tom Hanks, the event will feature remarks by Biden and Harris as well as musical performances by Bruce Springsteen, Justin Timberlake, John Legend, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jon Bon Jovi, Foo Fighters, Demi Lovato and Ant Clemons, among others. .



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *